The Lou Marsh Legacy - Honouring Canada's Top Athletes

Wayne Gretzky



Wayne Gretzky “The Great One” hoisting the Stanley Cup above his head

Wayne Gretzky “The Great One” hoisting the Stanley Cup above his head

Paul Bereswill/Hockey Hall of Fame

Firing on all cylinders…

Wayne Gretzky leads the Edmonton Oilers to their second straight Stanley Cup, by beating the Philadelphia Flyers in 5 games. He is arguably playing the best hockey of his career. The whole team has gelled with Wayne, Jari Kurri and Paul Coffey firing on all cylinders as a unit. Wayne contributes 47 points in 18 playoff games and receives his first Conn Smythe trophy as the most valuable player in the playoffs.

En route to the playoffs he collects: his fourth consecutive Lester B. Pearson Award for outstanding league player as chosen by other players; fifth consecutive Art Ross Trophy for leading scorer; an unprecedented sixth Hart Trophy as league MVP. He finishes the season owning or sharing 38 NHL records.

It is ample achievement to receive the Lou Marsh Award for the third time, a record he shares with only one other; another fine skater by the name of Barbara Ann Scott.

“Edmonton Oilers” Rule

From 1917 to 1985 if two players were penalized at the same time, both would go to the box and the teams would play “four-on-four” for the next two minutes. Gretzky and his formidable Oilers were so notorious for high scoring and so effective in capitalizing on the extra open ice of a four-on-four situation, the NHL adopted a new rule prior to the 1985-86 season allowing for substitutions on coincident minors. It became widely known as the “Edmonton Oilers” rule. While this rule change angered Oilers management and many fans it also highlighted how powerful the team had become. By 1985, Wayne Gretzky had led his team to a level of competency that was now apparently being guarded against.

Is there a higher compliment?

Oilers' Gretzky three-time winner of Lou Marsh award Adobe PDF Transcript


1980, 1991, 1992, 1994, 1999
Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (sportsmanship)
1980-1983, 1985, 1989, 1999
Lionel Conacher Award (Canadian male athlete of the year)
1980-1987, 1989
Hart Memorial Trophy (most valuable player)
1981 -1987, 1990, 1991, 1994
Art Ross Trophy (scoring champion)
Sports Illustrated Sportsman of the Year
Associated Press Male Athlete of the Year
1982, 1983, 1985, 1989
Lou Marsh Memorial Award
1982-1985, 1987
Lester B. Pearson Award (outstanding player, voted by the players)
1982-1985, 1987
NHL Goal Scoring leader, now the Maurice Richard Trophy
1983, 1989, 1999
NHL All-Star Game MVP
1984, 1985, 1987, 1988
Stanley Cup Champion
1984, 1985, 1991
Canada Cup Champion
1985, 1988
Conn Smythe Trophy (playoff most valuable player)
Number 99 is retired league wide. No other player in the NHL will wear Wayne Gretzky’s number, 99 again.