The Lou Marsh Legacy - Honouring Canada's Top Athletes

Russ Jackson



Action photo of Russ Jackson wearing an Ottawa Rough Rider uniform

Action photo of Russ Jackson wearing an Ottawa Rough Rider uniform

Canadian Football Hall of Fame and Museum

A Storybook Ending

He collects his third career Schenley Award as the CFL’s Outstanding Player and is selected as the Outstanding Canadian Player for the fourth time. He rounds that out with a second Jeff Russel Memorial Trophy for top player in the East Division and a third time pick as CFL All-Star quarterback.

He then steps out for his final game. It has been a rewarding 12-year career with one team, his beloved Ottawa Rough Riders. In dramatic fashion he throws 4 touchdown passes and leads his teammates to their second successive Grey Cup. He is chosen outstanding player in the Grey Cup. Shortly after he is named Canada’s Outstanding Athlete.

The year is 1969, and the author of that perfect ending is Russ Jackson, one of the CFL’s finest players and greatest quarterbacks. He dispels the myth that Canadians simply don’t make good quarterbacks.

Adding to the drama, Russ announces his retirement early in the year long before the start of the season. He must write this script game by game. He does a masterful job. A classy guy on and off the field he is a worthy character in a story that could not have a better ending.

McMaster University professors tried in vain to prevent this brilliant athletic career by attempting to persuade their star student to stand as their Rhodes Scholarship candidate. Russ chose football but never put aside academia.

Upon retirement from football, he steps into the role of full-time educator. Russ Jackson’s ability to marry his passion for sports and academia make him an exemplary life-long role model.

1969…it was a vintage year for a great Canadian.

Jackson is winner of Marsh Trophy Adobe PDF Transcript


1959, 1963, 1966, 1969
CFL’s Outstanding Canadian Player
Jeff Russel Memorial Trophy
1960, 1968, 1969
Grey Cup – Ottawa Rough Riders
1963, 1966, 1969
Schenley Award, CFL Outstanding Player of the Year
Lionel Conacher Award (Canada’s Male Athlete of the Year)
Lou Marsh Memorial Award