The Lou Marsh Legacy - Honouring Canada's Top Athletes

Lou Marsh

The Athlete

1926 Birely Cup medal won by Lou Marsh

A gold medal from the L.S.S.A ANNUAL REGATTA. On the back of the medal an engraving reads "1926 BIRELY CUP - FIRST LOU E. MARSH N.Y.C." Date 1926 CollectionCanada's Sports Hall of Fame

His athletic resume contains few gaps. It is of a man consumed with sport. Naturally muscular and strong, Lou Marsh was well suited to many sports.

His physique was predisposed to sprinting; reputedly he ran the 100 yards in 10.24 seconds. Marsh coached and ran with Bobby Kerr, one of Canada's best sprinters and once trumped him in a hurdle race. He coached the great marathon runner Tom Longboat at his victory in the 1907 Boston Marathon.

In rugby football, the robust Marsh started as an inside wing with the Wellesley Juniors, and finished as a quarterback with the Toronto Argonauts.

It was on or in the water he seemed happiest. He swam like a duck and once battled the swift currents of the Niagara River from Lewiston, New York, to Queenston, Ontario, on a bet. Walking back across the Lewiston Bridge to collect, he took on another dare, this time a swim to the bell buoy off the Niagara mouth and back, a distance of 14 miles.

Bronze medal with Lou Marsh engraved in the centre

A rectangular bronze pin with "L. MARSH" engraved in the centre. Date 1920's CollectionCanada's Sports Hall of Fame

He loved to sail sloops in the summer; ice-boats in the winter. He coined the term "sea-flea" to characterize small outboard racing boats that buzzed about the Toronto shoreline. Marsh owned and raced seven sea-fleas each named 'Pick and Shovel' (I, II, III etc.).

A capable boxer, a decent baseball player, he also indulged regularly in golf. To the delight of his readers he created 'wambeazles,' 'whiffenfish,' and other fictitious creatures to describe his adventures when he took up angling and fishing later in life.

Gold lapel pin inscribed with CNE Press

Gold CNE Press Pin. Date 1920's CollectionCanada's Sports Hall of Fame

Marsh distinguished himself as a first-rate referee in boxing, wrestling, and hockey. In the latter he worked the gamut from the amateur ranks to the NHL. He refereed the first professional NHL game at Madison Square Gardens in December, 1925 and officiated at the 1932 Olympics.

A fearless referee he was never afraid to "call 'em as I see 'em." In the Northern Ontario Hockey Association, partisan small-town crowds often blamed the referee for a loss. He exited countless arenas by the back door or window, sometimes still wearing skates, to avoid hostile mobs. In fact, it was in the northern leagues that his patented cow-bell was introduced to keep boisterous games under control. That stern patented jerk of the thumb over his shoulder, that motioned a delinquent player to the penalty box, has been immortalized into a statue.

That a trophy for outstanding athlete also bears his name seems quite appropriate!

In the news

“Fair, Fearless Sportsman” Is Tribute to Lou Marsh Adobe PDF Transcript

THE LATE LOU MARSH, SPORTS EDITOR AND COMMENTATOR, IN TWO TYPICAL PICTURES Adobe PDF Transcript

L'Héritage de Lou Marsh - Les meilleurs athlètes canadiens

Lou Marsh

Carrière sportive

Vues avant et arrière de la médaille de la Coupe Birely gagnée en 1926 par Lou Marsh

Une médaille d'or de la régate annuelle L.S.S.A. Au dos de la médaille se lit une inscription gravée : « 1926 BIRELY CUP - FIRST LOU E. MARSH N.Y.C. » Date 1926 CollectionPanthéon des sports canadiens

Son histoire sportive contient quelques blancs. C'est l'histoire d'un homme consumé par le sport. Musclé et fort de nature, Lou Marsh était très doué à de nombreux sports.

Son physique était prédisposé au sprint, d'après les informations reçues il a couru le 100 verges en 10,24 secondes. Marsh a entraîné Bobby Kerr, l'un des meilleurs coureurs de vitesse, et couru avec lui. En une occasion, il l'a même déjoué pendant une course de haies. Il était l'entraîneur du surprenant coureur de marathon Tom Longboat lors de sa victoire au marathon de Boston en 1907.

Au rugby, le robuste Marsh a fait ses débuts en tant qu'ailier intérieur avec les Juniors de Wellesley pour terminer quart-arrière des Argonauts de Toronto.

Médaille de bronze avec les mots Lou Marsh gravés au centre

Une épinglette en bronze au centre de laquelle est gravée l’inscription « L. MARSH ». Date Les années 1920 CollectionPanthéon des sports canadiens

C'était sur l'eau ou dans l'eau qu'il était le plus heureux. Il nageait avec aise et a une fois affronté les courants rapides de la rivière Niagara, de Lewiston dans l'État de New York jusqu'à Queenston en Ontario, à cause d'un pari. Alors qu'il traversait le pont de Lewiston pour réclamer sa mise, il a relevé un autre défi, cette fois il a nagé jusqu'à la bouée en forme de cloche près de la bouche du Niagara et est revenu à la nage, une distance de 22,54 km.

Il adorait naviguer des voiliers l'été et des chars à glace l'hiver. Il a créé le terme « sea-flea » (puce de mer) pour décrire les petits bateaux de course à moteur extérieur qui résonnaient près de la rive de Toronto. Marsh était propriétaire et conduisait sept de ces sea-fleas, chacun d'eux nommé « Pick and Shovel » (I, II, III, etc.).

Un respectable boxeur, un décent joueur de baseball, il jouait aussi régulièrement au golf. Au plaisir de ses lecteurs il a crée les « wambeazles », « whiffenfish » et d'autres créatures fictives pour décrire ses aventures lorsqu'il s'est plus tard mis à la pêche.

Épinglette dorée portant l’inscription CNE Press

Épinglette dorée de la presse de l'ENC. Date Les années 1920 CollectionPanthéon des sports canadiens

Marsh s'est distingué en tant qu'arbitre de premier rang à la boxe, à la lutte et au hockey. Dans ce dernier domaine, il s'est taillé un chemin, des rangs amateurs jusqu'à la LNH. Il a servi d'arbitre lors de la première partie professionnelle de la LNH, au Madison Square Garden en décembre 1925, et aux Olympiques de 1932.

Un arbitre sans peur, il n'hésitait jamais à « les annoncer comme je les voyais ». Dans l'Association de hockey du Nord de l'Ontario, les partisans de petites villes blâmaient souvent l'arbitre pour une partie perdue. Les occasions où il a dû sortir par la porte arrière de l'aréna ou une fenêtre pour éviter l'hostilité des foules, parfois portant encore ses patins, étaient innombrables. En effet, c'est en travaillant dans les ligues nord qu'il a introduit la cloche à vache qu'il avait fabriquée pour maintenir l'ordre pendant les parties bruyantes. Cette invention ne requérait qu'un mouvement du pouce par-dessus son épaule, ce qui indiquait qu'un joueur fautif devait se rendre au banc des pénalités, a été immortalisée en une statue.

Qui peut être surpris qu'un trophée pour l'athlète par excellence porte aussi son nom!

Aux nouvelles

Hommage à Lou Marsh, « un sportif juste et courageux » Adobe PDF Transcription

LE REGRETTÉ LOU MARSH, RÉDACTEUR ET COMMENTATEUR SPORTIF, SUR DEUX PHOTOS TYPIQUES Adobe PDF Transcription